View Single Post
Old 08-31-2017, 03:14 PM

8 yr Member

8 yr Member

Hi TedW,

Welcome to NT. Sorry to read of the reason you've come here but the fact that you are reaching out for advice is a good sign toward recovery.

I'm not a software developer either - I'd go as far as calling myself technically challenged. I can however relate to the loss of cognitive function - not as a result of accident but chronic illness (7+ years). During the worst moments I describe my brain to doctors as being like a TV where someone else has the remote control and is channel surfing.

Software development is inherently a creative process - as someone who was previously artistic I can relate. As yet I haven't recovered the ability to draw - hopefully one day. As for ideas to help with regaining skills I can only speak of my own experience. Recently I was 'propelled' into volunteering in a campaign for a not-for-profit cause I believe passionately in - saving a community facility that is scheduled for closure. Subsequently I've found myself pushed to using my brain far more than in recent years . . . writing letters, drafting strategies, coordinating plans etc. As a result I'm finding my cognitive function gradually improving.