View Single Post
Old 09-01-2017, 06:16 PM
Newly Joined

5 yr Member
Newly Joined

5 yr Member
Default How to describe what a developer does

Thanks for chiming in! I'm a self-taught programmer. I used to work for a large government department doing desktop development. If an app was needed at the desktop level (apart from mainframe data), I'd write it. Some of it was mission critical and a semi-big deal. Around 2000, I found a niche market I was familiar with and wrote an app for a need that wasn't really handled by any other software available. Shortly after that, I left government work and have successfully operated my one-man-shop software company.

As the dust is settling around my post-concussion self, I'm not confident that I'll ever be able to pick up where I left off. One of the biggest frustrations I have is trying to explain to lawyers, doctors, and therapists exactly what I do (did) for a living. Last night I realized that I can use the standard 'software development cycle' model as a way to try to get across all the roles, parts, and pieces I cover day in and day out. We'll see. Right now, I can handle about 30 minutes of mental focus at a time - then I'm done for the day. Even then, though, I process things very slowly and I'm not sure how much I'm retaining.

I'm happy to have found this forum. Really happy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CCMommy View Post
Hi there, I'm new here too. I joined a few weeks ago intending to introduce myself then had a round of testing that caused me to have a few very bad weeks and not wanting to be near a computer or reading. I'm sure everyone can relate.

I am/was a software developer before my accident and brain injury so I know exactly what you are going through. My accident was late last year so I'm about 9 or 10 months into recovery. I have been through all kinds of therapies and am trying to get some vision therapy right now.