View Single Post
Old 01-13-2018, 02:46 PM
Newly Joined

5 yr Member
Newly Joined

5 yr Member
Default Should I quit contact sports?

Martial Arts Injury
Hi, I am new to this but some issues I've been having have pushed me to post here. Anyway I am a karate point fighter. A few months ago I was sparring with someone who had very little control and was trying to prove something (any martial artist knows the type) and as I was trying to pause our sparring session I was slammed to the mat, hitting the back of my head on the mat. I saw a flash, much like a camera flash but I thought I was okay. I did not see anything wrong with me until a day or two later. I started to feel foggy and for the first couple of weeks it felt almost like I was drunk. The drunk feeling eventually went away but the fogginess stayed for months. I have improved a lot since then but some of the fogginess is still there. I also have been forgetting simple things, been having headaches, and have a hard time paying attention to conversations. This injury has effected me greatly and no one seems to understand what it feels like, with a couple just calling me a hypochondriac. As an athlete I am no stranger to injuries and this is by far the worst feeling I have ever had in my life.
I do have a history of playing contact sports, like football in high school. I was never formally diagnosed with a concussion but looking back I'm pretty sure I had a few. However, I never felt bothered for long periods of time from playing football.