View Single Post
Old 06-06-2018, 11:42 PM
Newly Joined

5 yr Member
Newly Joined

5 yr Member
Default Seeking herbal treatments

New here. I have a brief introduction, and two questions for anyone who'd care to respond.

I began manifesting signs of neuropathy just three weeks ago: numbness and tingling in all 10 fingers, both feet from the ball of the foot forward, and sometimes my tongue. No pain, however. But I'm scared. I'm a writer and artist by profession. My typing has become clumsy, and when I hold a pencil, I feel I'm no longer in total control. This illness could cost me everything.

I just came out of two days of tests in hospital. They confirmed what my condition is not: It isn't from diabetes, MS, a stroke, or B12 deficiency. They wanted to do a nerve biopsy, which would render me permanently numb in an area of my ankle, so I told them to get lost. Making a long story short, I strongly suspect my statin medication as the cause of PN. It was the only medication I was taking, until I threw my pills in the trash last week.

First question: is there any discussion or dependable research regarding statins and peripheral neuropathy?

Second question: I've searched this forum and elsewhere for knowledgeable discussions of non-pharmaceutical treatments, specifically for reversing PN. There is a lot of information out there. If I took all of it seriously, I'd be consuming around 50 supplements daily, from exotic new B12 formulas to ayurvedic medicine. All of which I'm open to, but I don't know where to begin to sort through what might work best, and proper dosages.

Currently I'm trying out the following:

• B12 (methylcobalamin) (500 mcg)
• Folic Acid (400 mg)
• Vitamin C (1000 mg)
• Vitamin D3 (2000 iu)
• CoQ10 (100 mg)
• R-Alpha Lipoic Acid (200 mg)
• Acetyl L-Carnitine (1000 mg)
• Magnesium (1000 mg)
• Apple cider vinegar (1 tbsp)
• Turmeric (1/4 tsp)
• Chili pepper
• Red onion (for Quercetin)
• Cinnamon
• Sulphur (MSM)
• Coconut oil
• Flax seed