View Single Post
Old 03-18-2019, 07:28 PM

5 yr Member

5 yr Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by 6thCranialNerve View Post
I take opioids for Chemo-Neuropathy. I take Gabapentin 800mg. TID. My family has shamed me for taking opioids. I've signed a contract with my PCP and take a pee test every quarter to show I am indeed using them (vs selling). I use a great lotion Penetrex which has Frankincense. I use CBD oil. I try to limit caffeine and mostly drink H20. When I try to stop taking the opioids, my feet (especially) and hands burn. It becomes really bad. I'm a nurse with over 40yrs. so I realize pain is subjective. My PCP believes me; but I can't get past the family shame; especially my daughter. I've had acupuncture before and it did nothing. I am on disability and cannot afford integrative medicine. I would love to be able to try a barometric pressure chamber.

I developed double vision last January and have since been diagnosed with Multiple Myeloma. I am praying that maybe that will help. Otherwise, I must continue with the opioids.

Any suggestions?
I had bilateral compression of the lateral femoral cutaneous nerve for YEARS and after oral opioids didn't provide relief, a neurologist prescribed a fentanyl patch.

It worked great in treating the pain, which, luckily, resolved on its own (after YEARS).

BUT, over the years I was on the patch, my creatinine levels were elevated.

An endocrinologist later told me that the patch was impairing my kidney function. So I got off it. Ironically, I had seen a nephrologist for the elevated creatinine and didn't think it was the cause.