View Single Post
Old 02-06-2020, 10:15 PM
Newly Joined

3 yr Member
Newly Joined

3 yr Member
Default CIDP and Wow!

Hi,
I just signed into the site tonight. I was trying to find the introduction thread and then I saw CIDP and then I scrolled down and saw “Anyone out there with CIDP” and it made me stop. My story is kinda long and no different than anyone else with Neuro issues but, I was diagnosed with Chronic Lyme Disease by CDC standards about oh, 4 years ago.

First though, I was a nurse working nights in the ER and got home around 8am and ready for bed!. I’d been having leg cramps, total legs which as a massage therapist prior to nurse, I didn’t think all muscles could cramp at one time. We were always taught to use the antagonist muscle to break the cramp in the one that was cramping.
See, it’s already getting long. Anyway, I cramped so bad that I tried to stand but, fell and broke a lamp while still screaming in pain. I grabbed a rug and covered the glass so my cats wouldn’t get cut.. I woke up the next morning, soaked in blood from a large piece of glass in my foot, which I didn’t feel.
Ok with just that info alone, it was a mess trying to figure out what was happening. I never knew I couldn’t feel my feet and parts of my legs. I just thought I was happy getting my sneakers off after running around the ER for 13 hours. Then after getting my foot stitched over the next 24 hours I noticed my hands were numb and tingling. Spent a couple weeks in the hospital, that was the last time I worked. Just like that.