Thread: Tarlov cyst
View Single Post
Old 11-29-2020, 10:26 PM

3 yr Member

3 yr Member

Hello Diamond Tiger,
Thank you so much for your helpful response. I am pretty new at all the Tarlov Cyst information. I was having low back to sachral area pain August. Had X-rays in sept and told it was my sacroiliac joint. Went to physical therapy 2 months and was not getting better so went to orthopedic surgeon at another facility and had MRI 10/22. Prior to this my back pain was slight just when I would get up or sitting for long. On 11/2 I had the MRI follow up and was scheduled for sacroiliac epidural on 11/20. Doctor did not mention the 2cm Tarlov cyst at s2. When I questioned it she said it was an incidental finding. I ended PT on 11/6. Just about this time I started having burning sensations in my butt area. So made appt with original physical medicine doctor who did X-rays. I told her I was having burning in butt down to
My thighs. She said I had piriformis syndrome and that Tarlov cyst is no symptomatic. Went back to orthopedic with new symptoms and she again said
That it is not symptomatic and if o don't
Believe her to go to neurosurgeon. Meanwhile on 11/20 I againhad these weak feelings and could not get comfortable and went neurologist that day. Told him about Tarlov and he just scoffed it off and said I had restless leg. So went to neurosurgeon on 11/23 and she did say symptoms were 70/30 Tarlov l2 to l3 discs and to see neurosurgeon at main campus for 2nd opinion and referred me to pain management appt not till 12/30 and neurosurgeon on 1/15. In the meantime I have not had the burning since Monday but this weakness sensation does not go away-about every other day. I feel like I am going to die . Do not know what to do. So sorry about my rambling and detailed post. I appreciate all your help and am praying for you also.
If you have any names of neurosurgeon who treat this please let me know.

Thank you for the help
Anndav