View Single Post
Old 04-02-2021, 04:00 AM

3 yr Member

3 yr Member

Hey SoulfulYin,

I've read this thread this morning and and am hugely impressed by how thoughtful and caring you are.

My background is also alcohol induced peripheral neuropathy. My PN too peaked after I had stopped drinking, maybe 2 months afterwards, but things slowly began to get better. I don't understand this mechanism, but wonder if the liver in detoxifying releases neurotoxins into the blood.

Here are some thoughts

Your mum seems to lack motivation. This is understandable. Are you familiar with the neuromodulator/transmitter dopamine? Dopamine release in the brain is triggered when you engage in activities you find pleasurable. It's a kind of reward system. Alcohol causes an addictive imbalance of dopamine release through drinking. It overloads the system and reduces dopamine receptor sensitivity. Alcohol itself becomes the reward. At the peak of my drinking I used to wake up and drink supermarket whisky.

When you stop drinking the lack of dopamine can lead to a sense of hopelessness and and emptyness. This combined with the additional time for reflection that sobriety inevitably allows can lead to reduced motivation and the fear that things will get worse, not better.

I wonder if overnight TV has replaced alcohol for your mum.

I know it sounds odd, but peripheral neuropathy and the pain associated can be a great motivator. The desire to get better and to see progress can be its own reward. I know it did for me. And improvement, believe me, reduction in symptoms is an absolute joy.

The Glymphatic System