View Single Post
Old 04-09-2021, 11:32 PM

3 yr Member

3 yr Member
Default Quick update on our situation

Mom's left leg got pretty swollen today. This was some hours after the call from one of mom's doctor's nurses that her lab results were normal, or so my mom said. It was after my grandma brought some deep fried chicken and spaghetti. Mom had maybe 1 piece, or most of it.

Then, maybe no longer than an hour later, her left leg bloated. She drank some water and took a short little walk, it went down a little. We didn't want to give her too much water, since she's technically still on a fluid restriction, which we didn't think she needed anymore since her results are normal. But we have not gone over her limit. Maybe no more than a single ounce more, at worst. But it's still swollen, maybe 2-3 hours max since it bloated. I'm thinking maybe it's related to her blood sugar. I'm no doctor, though, so I don't know. We called my aunt, and my grandma. Aunt doesn't know, but she does deal w/ edema too and sometimes her legs bloat. Idk if it's only one sometimes. Grandma doesn't think it could be due to just 1 piece of fried chicken. But at the same time she says not to worry. Now, as her son you might be able to tell why that's a little hard to do.