Thread: Hello
View Single Post
Old 09-11-2021, 06:40 AM

2 yr Member

2 yr Member
Default Hello

Hello, this is my first posting.
With the help of a sister who was a registered nurse for over forty years I have deduced what I think is Thoracic Outlet Syndrome. My sister had similar symptoms developed in the course of her work as a nurse.
My problem stemmed from poor posture. I am an amateur musician and started developing weakness in my hands in my early thirties.
I saw neurologists at two different clinics in my hometown in the early eighties. They gave me cursory hand strength exams, stuck needles in my hands, and they told me I didn't have any problems. Not one of them talked to me about possibly correcting my posture. I don't know if TOS was a topic that was discussed among the medical community at that time, but at any rate the doctors were worthless.
I didn't correct my posture until I was in my mid forties thanks to advice from a chiropractor I was seeing. I then was alerted to a book about correct posture and the Alexander Technique by a massage therapist.
After one month of correcting my posture I was able to resume playing my guitar for hours. a day where for the previous fifteen years I had rarely been able to practice.
They symptoms for TOS I had did not involve any pain. I simply had numbness in my fingers. I arms became extremely fatigued when i put them over my head.
Because my arms became tired and sore quickly I could not play tennis as well as practice my guitar. My right hand is still discolored.
Everything I loved to do came to a halt.
But after correcting my posture I was able to resume playing my guitar and playing tennis.
But after I started working for the USPS later that year the problems resumed chiefly from having to do a lot of lifting and throwing (yes throwing) of heavy objects. I would occasionally have periods where the strength in my arms and hands would return but then I'd get relapses,'