Thread: Sleep Question
View Single Post
Old 09-26-2007, 11:16 AM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member
Default HI todd..

..... so, you wanna sleep, eh? Best way I know of (no kidding) is a shot of Cognac. But alcohol is as addicting as any sleep medication and after awhile, either the dose must be ramped up, or you have to go sleepless for a few nights to get the same effect.
Now, if we were healthy, we could go on a long walk out in the fresh air, but many of us can't do that now. Reading. Pick up as boring a book as you possibly can find. Don't pick a riveting one , or I can guarantee you, you'll be up all night trying to finish it. I'm a scientist, so i have probably the most choice of boring books that one can imagine. !) minutes of anything with eqautions in it is guaranteed to put me in LALA land. However, it is often only temporary, that i think is the real problem that we are talking about here. NOw i've been on Klonopin for over 10 years so i can't use it every night or it just isn't effective, but it always works (2mg) to at least calm me enough (especially restless legs) to allow me to sleep. Trazodone does put one to sleep (i used too work for the guy who invented it, so i know a lot about it), but it can give one a bit of a fuzzy head well into the next day, as it's metabolite, a "phenylpiperazine" is quite long lived before it's all excreted.