View Single Post
Old 01-16-2008, 05:24 PM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member
Default Brain Gym

Hello,
I'm new to this group, not sure if I'm doing this posting right, anyway here it goes.
"Brain Gym" I've been practicing it for about 4 years now. I don't do it every day, and it only takes about 15 minutes, but their's lots of different exercises so you can, so do as many as you like and do different ones each time.
When I lived in Calgary, I belonged to the young onset pd group. Once of the facilitators put together a course on "Brain Gym". She told us that pd'ers practicing this have shown improvements. I don't remember where she got the following info, but it really sounded interesting: "By practicing Brain Gym, you will stimulate new areas of the brain to create dopamine" Sounds good enough for me, so I signed up for the course.

So what is "Brain Gym"
Info taken from: brainworksnaturally.com
Brain GymŪ consists of various combinations of 26 targeted movements. It grew out of clinical studies started in 1969 by Paul Dennison. In the more than thirty years since, research has shown that application of Brain GymŪ provides significant improvement in concentration, memory, reading, organization skills, language and number skills, writing, speaking, athletic performance and more. It is used worldwide in more than 90 countries, in 40 different languages. In 1989, in response to "The Nation At Risk" study, The National Learning Foundation selected Brain GymŪ as a recommended learning strategy, and continued to rate it highly throughout the 1990’s.

Who Benefits ?