View Single Post
Old 01-25-2008, 01:25 PM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member

Hi Fern,

Let me first start with a disclaimer that I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on TV ... however, I do have a couple of thoughts on your issue(s). First, I believe that if you have suspected or undisputed TOS that you should really work on correcting or minimizing that as a top priority. I'm not suggesting surgery as I do not have the expertise to even do so. There appear to be a number of alternative therapeutic strategies that one might want to consider first anyway, including PT, before going under the knife. For me, personally, surgery will only come as a last resort. Tendonitis is a common ailment often attributed to overuse and/or incorrect use. If you have TOS, I would suspect that you are doing both. You are overusing your "good" side and producing symptoms because of that and you are incorrectly using your "bad" side in an attempt to reduce your symptoms there. If you do have tendonitis, which wouldn't surprise me, you might want to address the underlying cause and not just the symptoms... i.e., you wouldn't just take an asprin for a headache caused by a tumor, right?. Most often tendonitis is treated with rest (i.e., stop doing what was aggravating the problem), icing the area and taking OTC NSIADs, which you could do yourself, however, any orthopedic doc should be able to dx this problem. With regard to the ligament laxity, whether this is congenital or brought on by a specific trauma, there are treatment plans for this as well and again, it sounds like an orthopedic doc should be able to dx/tx this - I would look for one that specializes in Sports Medicine. I would end though with reiterating what I suggested in the beginning of this response, which is to take care of your TOS - again, this does not necessarily mean surgery. It could be promoting your tendonitis and considering how the pain of TOS can really just be all over the map, I think it is very difficult to tweeze ou