View Single Post
Old 02-08-2008, 02:10 PM
Elder

15 yr Member
Elder

15 yr Member

Jo not one word to me...since you've met me and the first thing you said was I was skinny...but I have not always been...

You have to get into a mindset to do this for yourself...not someone else!

In 2002, when I graduated from college, I weighed 192 lbs. What motivated me to lose weight was the pictures from the graduation party. It was also my 50th birthday party. I had 75 people in my backyard and had a fully catered party with my friends, family, and classmates. There were a lot of photos taken along with me in my cap and gown!

When I saw those pictures I was horrified - who was that person! It was ME!!! That next week I sat down with my PCP and my neuro and told them I had to get the weight off. My cholesterol was 262 (it's a genetic thing) and I just felt horrible.

So I went on a very strict Atkins program. 6 months, I lost 50 lbs. My cholesterol went down to 197! I was heavily monitored b/c Atkins is not well tolerated by people with MS. I did very well and have maintained the weight loss (and even lost more) for 5 years.

I do not diet anymore, I eat healthy.

I did it for myself, no one else. I knew that I had to b/c I was unhealthy. I had been dx'd with a chronic illness that I was going to be living with for the rest of my life. Putting medications into my body that were likely going to be causing side effects that I had no idea what but I did have control over the food I ate. And that's exactly what I did. I have control over something...food. It does not control me.

IV steroids wreak havoc on my body. Luckily now I cannot do them as often as I used to b/c of this clinical trial I am in, but I always gained weight but I have learned tricks so I didn't gain as much weight.

Good luck to all of you as get control of your eating habits. It is a lifestyle choice...long term, not short term.