View Single Post
Old 02-12-2008, 05:53 PM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member
Thumbs up Greetings from a Newbie

First of all... your stories, experiences, and perseverance is inspirational and I wish you the best in dealing with these often difficult symptoms.

I'm new to Chiari and am hoping to learn as much as possible from you kind folks. I've always been very active with excellent fitness (cardio-wise), riding 7000+ miles yearly in cycling events, up steep mountains and such. I'm happy to say my life has been peaceful and mostly stress-free, and I live a normally very healthy life with my equally active wife. As a youth, I played a variety of sports, mostly baseball and tennis, and never experienced anything odd. Now at 44, and still active, I began experiencing slight balance issues and sometimes difficulty focusing my vision as of 6 months ago. My PCP, ENT, and a PT thought this was some sort of a vestibular (inner ear) issue, but a January 08 MRI showed Chiari I with 8-9mm.