View Single Post
Old 10-13-2006, 01:02 AM
Legendary

15 yr Member
Legendary

15 yr Member

Cheryl, Clonidine is usually tapered very slowly to reduce rebound effect. Those symptoms that you've posted could be part of that, but I really don't know how adding the Abilify would figure into it all.

You said "very nauseated, very irritable, angry, shaky, agitated, sweaty, clammy"
I'm no doctor but that sounds as if it's from the withdrawal of the clonidine. It is a blood pressure medication originally. How's his blood pressure??

Quote:
Another warning: clonidine (Catapres/Dixarit) is a drug introduced for high blood pressure that is also used for tics and ADHD. It usually causes no low blood pressure problems in persons with normal blood pressure, but it should not be discontinued suddenly because of a risk of sudden rebound (high blood pressure when the drug's influence is removed). It should be tapered slowly over a period of days to weeks, depending upon dosage. (In general, it's a good idea to taper all of the drugs we use when discontinuing them, unless the dosage level is already very low.)
http://www.tourette-confusion.blogspot.com/

This one is very old, but it's specific and it's also a Leckman/Cohen study. I'd have to trust that they knew what they were saying lol

Quote:
Archives of General Psychiatry.
Vol. 43 No. 12, December 1986
Rebound phenomena in Tourette's syndrome after abrupt withdrawal of clonidine. Behavioral, cardiovascular, and neurochemical effects

J. F. Leckman, S. Ort, K. A. Caruso, G. M. Anderson, M. A. Riddle and D. J. Cohen