View Single Post
Old 03-31-2008, 11:06 AM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member

I have obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) and occasional central sleep apnea. I have been using a CPAP machine for about three years. Body weight can be a factor in OSA. I've lost 60 pounds in the last nine months and find I don't need it as much as I did when I weighed 250 pounds. The weight loss has been intentional and I hope to lose another 10-20 pounds.

At the worst, I was having apneas 40 to 60 times per hour (depending on which side I slept on) and was only getting 2 to 4 percent of the amount of deep sleep that is considered normal. During my first few weeks of CPAP use, I started waking up after only a few hours of sleep. My sleep therapist told that this was normal and meant I was responding positively to the therapy. The explanation goes something like this: Over many years, my body had become accustomed to getting x amount of deep sleep during the usual eight or so hours of sleep. When I began using the CPAP device, I started getting x amount of deep sleep in just two or three hours. Thus I woke up at 2:00 AM feeling like I had slept the entire night.

The results from using the CPAP machine are mixed for me. I am getting better quality deep sleep. Unfortunately, my other problems also keep me from sleeping. I take clonazepam to control myoclonus, but the clonazepam inhibits dream sleep. The best part is that I can rest peacefully during the night. This helps my wife's health.