View Single Post
Old 04-12-2008, 09:28 AM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member

Arthritis runs strongly through my father's family (who I mainly am like...looks, build, etc.). I would say that's a strong possibility now that I'm 44...especially after the two rear-ends? Thanks for mentioning that because it's been lurking in the back of my mind.

I've really been watching myself this last week so I'd have something to report to y'all (you all really amaze me with your knowledge and sharing it). I'm beginning to think it's ALL my posture.

Being a co-admin at two websites, I'm online (especially reading and clicking) alot. With being right-handed, I lean continually on my left elbow so I can manipulate the mouse.

I'll never forget when I worked as a project coordinator at the last firm I worked for. I was on the phone most of my time there. I would write and lean on that left elbow again. I remember dealing with quite a bit of pain there on my left side, and was worried about it. It got better when I had to quit, but then I think I've traded for a new position leaning on that left side!

See I need to get a chair that doesn't have an arm on it and I think that will help me remember my posture. For instance, I pulled a kitchen chair into the livingroom computer and automatically, I don't know how many times, went to lean and nothing there so I adjusted myself another way. I was majorly surprised at how much I do that. When leaning on the arm of the chair, my shoulder gets pushed high up, elbow rests and hand then hangs. Doing this hours a day??? I really think that's it and why it mostly on the right side!

I have to say that I'm very relieved to think it's no so much my neck doing it all.