View Single Post
Old 04-26-2008, 04:33 PM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member
Default The promise of gene therapy

Over the past several years I have tried to gain as much information on gene therapy for Parkinson's as I could. I don't believe that gene therapy is another GDNF. I am a medical scientist and work extensively with the pharmaceutical industry. (My research is not involved with PD, but I know enough about science and clinical trials to be an informed consumer of data on gene therapy.)

There are three companies that are working hard in this area with slightly different approaches: (1) Oxfordshire Bioscience-in the UK; (2) Ceregene and (3) Neurologix in the US. (If there are others that I am not informed about please let me know.)

As far as I can tell Oxfordshire is actually behind the other two companies in their research. Ceregene's CERE 120 has completed Phase I and will complete Phase II and report results this year in Q4. (Enrollment for Phase II is now complete and patients are still being followed from Phase I as well.) Ceregene entered into a development deal with Genzyme last year that is quite substantial. In addition, Michael J Fox Foundation has contributed funds to Ceregene's research. The results from their Phase I trial are outstanding. Some patients are getting close to 3 years post surgery with no adverse events and continued improvement on standard measures at each follow-up point! This is following a single treatment. PET scans are showing cell regrowth. The cell growth is not out of control in any way.