View Single Post
Old 05-06-2008, 10:10 AM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member
Question First Post Here, multiple symptoms

am so glad I found you all!

My name is Carolyn. I am 49 years young...yeah right.... lol.
When we are dealing with painful and confusing health problems I think it helps to have and be able to give support to one another.

I had C-5 - C7 disc fusion in my late 30's and serious foot surgery done at 40 because of bone spurs and degeneration of the joints, I have just come from my neurosurgeon and am being scheduled for a L5-S1 fusion for disc collapse and bone spur into the spinal nerve. I have pretty significant pain in most joints and sometimes feel pretty depressed because I really want to be much more active and feel like I am missing a lot. I am a social worker and love my job. I have only been working at this particular job since 8/31/07 so I will not technically be eligible for FMLA leave for three and a half more months and I don't know if I can hold out that long.
One question I have for those of you who might be able to relate, is about muscle spasms throughout my entire body. I have had them in my hands neck, sides, back, feet, legs even my face. One time I was driving home from work and turned my head to merge on the expressway and my entire chest went into a spasm and it felt like a heart attack at first...really scary.