View Single Post
Old 06-04-2008, 09:07 PM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member
Default Help me TOS Braces

Hello. My name is Paul and I have been battling tos and now scapular winging for 10 yrs. I will give a more detailed intro after Friday, but I am seeing someone about getting a brace made up. I am a 4th generation Mason(Union bricklayer) and because of a football injury I tore my labrum and after that I was diagnosed TOS.. I believe it was because of how I healed post-op as I was a professional power-lifter and I now know I must of healed different thus causing tos.
At that time (22)I continued laying brick for 8 yrs. because the pain wasn't to bad. It got the point where I had to stop everything 2 yrs. ago. and the 2 yrs. prior to that I could only work 4 months a year.
This has left me in an horrific mental, physical and emotional state that I wouldn't wish upon anyone.
I have been through 4 invasive surgeries and because of the fact that I over developed pecs, I find pt/ot to be too painful now. I am currently finishing up a degree at Wentworth in Boston and it's all I can do to just take the t in and go to class and then right back home to an ice bath. mmm fun.. I don't have the type that requires a 1st rib resection. And because of all the masonry while there wasn't any blood flow they believe as do I that my primary muscles began recruiting the secondary. Causing those horrid spasms and bands to form. Now it only takes opening a car door to set them off..
The main reason I joined this is to just be able to talk with people who understand what kind of hell these syndromes can bring down on us.