View Single Post
Old 10-24-2006, 08:05 AM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member
Cool re: How Fast Can RSD Spread?

Heidi,

It's got to be frustrating to think that you are doing well, and this thing spreads. I don't have RSD, but my mother got it after she had a bad fracture in her right wrist from falling on black ice. My mother has always been healthy, like you, she's didn't cry over small things. But I was there through the whole thing, so I can see how someone who's so very active can have a really hard time of it.

It really sounds like you are getting some good care. Plus, you were diagnosed in a timely manner. Someone who was getting therapy the same time as my mom had been suffering with it for three to four months, and had become very debilitated without treatment.

I'm not a doctor, but I would guess that this spread like it did because the damage was originally in your back. Of course, all of the nerves are connected there. RSD can spread quite quickly, but your recovery can be quick too. The number one thing is that you take action, literally.

My mom didn't originally take Neurontin, but when she did, she found that she felt better because she was sleeping better. She couldn't sleep due to the pain, and the burning/shocking sensation you are talking about. Are you taking Neurontin before you go to bed? Maybe it needs to be adjusted.

The other thing that gives her relief is a non-electric heathing pad that has corn in it (some have rice or other grains) and she sprays it with water and warms it in the microwave. She couldn't believe that something that is warm helps to soothe a burning sensation, but it works.