View Single Post
Old 07-19-2008, 04:26 PM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member
Unhappy

Thanks for your support. I had to go to the ED again this am b/c my stupid G-J tube (which was just replaced Wed) pulled out--they go it back into the 1st part of the small intestine (just outside the stomach, but not far enough to prevent the reflux which triggers my asthma and respiratory muscles issues....and so the vicious cycle continues.

3 days until Hopkins.. me and my doctors are putting alot of aith in them coming up with something, but it the back of my mind I know there is not much they can do and nothing that helps quickly.

I'm embarrassed to admit it, but I am a physician--Nuclear Medicine which is part of Radiology (which means I don't know muchabout neuroimmunology, but I'm expected to anyway). I'm mainly do cancer research at the NCI investigating new "molecular imaging agents". We inject small amount of a drug with a radiolabel targeting to a cancer and imaging the distribution...the most well know is FDG PET scans--we as do bone scans, heart and kidney scans routinely. We get to image the metabolic processes going on in the organ--it is also called functional imaging.

So I guess I should be more calm and rationale about all of this...I understand that this is a complex problem and nobody has the time to make sure that what 1 doctor does doesn't screw up what the other is doing and because I'm inn the medical field I'm expected to pick up the slack. Unfortunately no "priority" treatments and most of the times I get asked what specifically do I want them to do for me.