View Single Post
Old 08-20-2008, 12:40 PM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member

Michael,

I sense you're going through some rough times. I can understand your worthless feelings, and I too have had my skills "crumble" literally from under my fingers. I make my living in the computer industry, and was once able to think very quickly on my feet and at the heat of a moment come up with a quick change of plans in case something didn't work. Unfortunately this isn't the case anymore. What once took only one try to get something done now takes me a lot longer. At first I was very frustrated but now I take my time anyway, and I think things through very carefully before I press one button or click a key.

I said I make my living in the computer industry, but my real focus has been music. Piano in particular and more recently the clavichord. It's not like I just play the piano, I was actually working on my audition to New England Conservatory when I decided many moons ago to take a more financially stable road. I've played the piano since I was about 6 years old and had my first lesson when I was eight. I think I only stopped practicing and playing when I had a cold, or went on vacation. Any other time in between, I was either working on the pieces mentally, or practicing at the keyboard.

So here in lies the big mess I'm facing as well. Career wise, I'm going nowhere really even though I'm working on my BS in Information Technology. Yes it has taken me 30 years to decide what I really didn't want to do for a living even though I'm doing it now. As far as getting a new job, well if I'm lucky someone else may hire me should I get laid off. I don't expect it since I have other things happening as well, which I'll discuss later.