Thread: How long...
View Single Post
Old 09-12-2008, 06:37 AM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member
Default Don't Give Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim0918 View Post
How long are we to be expected to have our once productive lives just stripped away from us. Prior to PD I was a 31 year old firefighter/paramedic, had a bright career, a wife and was basically happy with life. Now I've ran the course of the meds, had DBS which I recently found out that my neuro was turning down the stimulator, telling me he was turning it up! He even contradicts the settings in my chart! I'm supposed to go to a MDS but my wife won't change her day off to go with me. Last week I was in a nursing home because they couldnt care for me at home. I could not get anyone to answer the call bell after 15 mins and I ****** myself all over the bed. My life has been reduced to pitiful. I cannot be sexual because of SSRI's that I take for depression. My wife makes more time to spend with my grown daughters than with me. We sleep in separate bedrooms because I turn too much and I snore. She is not even interested in just laying in bed and talking together, I tell her that it doesnt have to be sex, she says thats what it will turn into and then I can't come through. My life sucks. Some days I am happy but not lately. I see more that I have lost than I have to gain. It seemed like they were glad to get me into a home, worried only that I would be "cared" for and didn't even stay 30 mins. I don't know but there does not seem anything to look forward to, I need something to hold, something to hope in. I have 3 great dogs, two black labs and a poodle mix. This past December I was in the garage and I tied an extension cord to the rafters and twisted it around my neck, stood on a bucket and they were what I thought of, they saved me. Maybe I'll just fall asleep next to them and hope for tomorrow.
Jim,