View Single Post
Old 10-09-2008, 10:16 AM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member
Default ...a related experience

I wan not sure exactly which thread to post this in. I think I will put it here. Maybe it will help someone who is struggling with end of life decisions. This is a big issue and is going to become bigger. Hospice is my passion and that of quite a few of my family members. I think there must be an answer, a 'middle road,' for people who face these issues. I want to relate this experience, I have had quite a few but will add just this one for now.
At one time I was a charge nurse in a Nursing Home on the private wing. We had a patient with a rare form of Parkinson's. When she was diagnosed and understood what she was facing, she put together a living will with her wishes. She did not have any family. But she did have a POA and a very good friend. She was intelligent, and middle aged. When she could not care for herself at home she made her home in this wing of the nursing home. I remember that she had a special computer set-up which was her life-line, so to speak. She was one special lady and we all loved her very much and did our best to care for her. With this particular type of Parkinson's, sorry I do not remember what it was, one deteriorates quite rapidly. In her living will she forbade any unusual or extreme measures to keep her alive beyond what would be considered a normal death process from the disease itself. She was terminal. I watched her deteriorate and loved her through it. She got to a point where she could not do anything for herself. She really could no longer feed herself. She would be in the hallway, in her wheelchair, with her tray in front of her, and I would watch her try to eat. As the months went by she became less and less able to accomplish it. It was difficult, but it was her wish that if she could no longer eat herself that she not be fed 'unnaturally.' She would allow us to feed her meals and give her Nutritious drinks to try and get some