View Single Post
Old 11-20-2006, 12:51 PM
Wisest Elder Ever

15 yr Member
Wisest Elder Ever

15 yr Member
Lightbulb In my case...

my GERD completely resolved when I started paying attention to the nutrients
needed by the stomach and lining of the esophagus...Omega-3's.

I have an EFA thread here on the Vitamin Forum...please take a look.

I have been helping people for 38 years...and within the last 15, we now have an epidemic of this new "disease" GERD. Even children now!

I think this is mostly due to dietary neglect! If you put the wrong fuel in your car...you can't expect the engine to run properly. And in this country USA
and other industrialized ones, this has been true. The dreaded transfats, also
have contributed to health issues, and only now, are being removed, but slowly from our food chain.

I have a hiatal hernia, a severe one, and congenital malrotation of the GI tract and accepted my GERD diagnosis 10 yrs ago as cast in stone. But I do not have it anymore, not for 10 yrs and am not taking drugs for it either. When I started EFAs to help my triglyceride profile, I had no expectation of other effects. Well, was I surprised? You betcha.

Our bodies will heal themselves, given that we understand what our bodies need and provide them. We have only to understand that taking a drug to remove acid, does NOT build or fix cells that are damaged. All those drugs do is take away the symptoms of burning because the acid is gone. They create an artificial stomach environment that we did not evolve to use. We need that acid for many reasons, to kill organisms in foods, and to enable absorption of calcium, B12, folic acid, zinc and iron. (those are only the ones known so far).