View Single Post
Old 11-20-2008, 04:49 PM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member

Jim,

I'm new to this road, but I understand your frustration. I take only a handful of medications now, but I count them out each morning for the entire day. I have one of those little metal canisters that I keep in my pocket along with my nail clippers. I keep any eye on the clock since I'm on an every 3-hour schedule until bedtime.

I know how many I'm supposed to take and at what time. When the pills are gone, it's time for bed. The seperate container also helps me to remember if I took a pills or pill, or even worse got side-tracked because of the long period in between doses. The other thing too this gets rid of the doubt I get with the "Did I take it or didn't I?" with the full bottles of medication, which make it difficult to count out the daily dosages. When my can is empty. That's it for the day.

I agree with Jaye on the absorbtion issue. I found I need a good empty stomach in order to absorb my medication. I also take it with a full glass of water -not a swig to wash the pills down - a full 8 oz. glass of water. This helps with the nausea and the amount of time the medication takes to turn me from a tin man in the morning to an almost human being.

Regarding your current neuro, I would shop around for another one. This character sounds like he's on an ego trip more than anything else, and likes to put the patients down. When I went from my first neuro to my current one at Lahey, I documented my history in a word document. This was very helpful for her and she used this as a basis to start her treatment for me. Periodically I update it as best I can. It keeps track of my current medication as well as changes in symptoms and improvements, and give a copy to her for her records.