View Single Post
Old 12-06-2008, 11:13 AM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member
Default Yes, Girija,

Quote:
Originally Posted by girija;42[CENTER
[/CENTER]0340]yes, it is unfortunate that MJFF decided not to include patients. No scientist or investor who is talking in that forum would have the same emotion, dedication and urgency to find a cure/atleast a drug to slow down PD than a patient. Many scientists I know have research projects on diseases, they know all about them, symptoms, statistics, cost for treatment etc but never ever met a single patient suffering from the disease s/he is working on, I was like that before my diagnosis with PD. I am a researcher working on vaccines for HIV. In a conference (organizers invited patients to join in) one patient asked me a simple question after my talk. The question/comment was "yes, you have great data, wonderful vaccine and you have cured mice of AIDS. But what about me, when will i get the benefit of it? When can I get the vaccine?"
My immediate thoughts were well its going to take time, we still have to do this and that, we need more money and a little more time etc etc .................... At that time, mY focus was on the research project NOT ON THE PATIENT. I thought I understood the urgency and need for a vaccine, but I wasnt even close to it. Only the guy with AIDS knew how important and critical it is for him and with one question, he opened my eyes. Soon after that, I found out about my PD and then, only then I understood that question and what it meant. The urgency and the need for a cure NOW and the frustration that it takes too long to get a good candidate from bench to bedside and the fear that it might not happen at all.............only a patient understands and listening to him/her is entirely different from reading it in a book.
sorry......... too long a message....