View Single Post
Old 11-29-2006, 01:24 AM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member
Suzanne,

My heart goes out to you. I find it difficult to even imagine what this is like for you right now. I wish I could provide what you want to know. I can't, but I have had some experience with this situation, and I will share what I can.

Background: I am a Clinical Psychologist by profession. I have been disabled due to chronic pain secondary to neuropathy for the past few years. While I am not able to practice, I had a fairly lengthy career during which I worked in quite a few different capacities. Currently, I am trying to write a little and have plans for a book - hoping I will eventually be able to manage that.

Some years back, actually about 10 I believe, I had a patient who had severe liver disease. He had contracted hepatitis B from a blood transfusion and was having significant medical problems. He was on a list for a transplant, but was not high enough on the list. He was told that it was not likely there would be a replacement for him if he neared death soon.

When I was first seeing him, it was an outpatient basis. He able to come to my office. But he did continue to get worse, and I began seeing him at his home - sometimes with his wife.

Finally he got so sick that he had to be hospitalized. While he still had some hope of a miracle transplant, he faced an increasing likelihood that he was going to die. He continued to move towards acceptance of that as he got weaker and weaker.

It was truly just a hellish nightmare for all of us around him, including me. But you know something - it was not exactly that way for my patient. Yes, there were times of huge distress with all the upset that you might imagine. But those times were the exception. Most of the time, he just wanted to be with those people who meant the most to him.