Thread: Sodium!!
View Single Post
Old 11-29-2006, 10:27 AM
Wise Elder

15 yr Member
Wise Elder

15 yr Member

Hi.

First let's address the saran wrap issue. I knew this a long long time ago and stopped using plastic wraps to cover my food. I bought one of those microwave see through things (it's a big hard plastic thing with a hole so the steam can vent). Been using it for years. Am on my second one by the way.
Comes in VERY handy to cook stuff.

Now for the salt.

Boy can I give a lot of info on Alan and his salt intake. He USES NO ADDITIONAL SALT WHATSOEVER ON ANYTHING HE PUTS IN HIS MOUTH.
All the doctor had to tell him when he got the stent last January was 'NO SALT". Because Alan took it literally, there was no salt added to anything on his plate. Since I never cooked with Salt, that was not a problem either.
The problem was reading labels (which I had been doing for 5 years or so to read about "how many carbs' "how much fat, transfat, etc' how much protein" was in any food that I bought.

I basically cook all my veggies fresh, so no problem there. I just add Mrs. Dash, or some garlic powder.

But sometimes I buy frozen veggies. I just look at the labels. If it says 20 to 50 of the sodium, well that's fine. Now canned stuff, that's a whole other ball of wax. Canned stuff has sodium in just about EVERYTHING.

So if I don't have enough time (let's say we just got home from a doctor's appointment, etc) I'll open up a can of carrots, and a can of mushrooms, (and any thing I can open), and I just drain and re-rinse every thing so any liquid is completely replaced so the sodium would be much much less.

forget about Tuna Fish, it's loaded so I buy the low-sodium kind.

We eat grilled chicken which has been grilled in lemon juice, fresh garlic and pepper, (maybe some balsamic vinegar, HE loves that, not me).

He won't eat that much fish any more so if I make fish, I use the dill, lemon juice, extra virgin olive oil (a splash) and mrs. dash. Tastes real good.