View Single Post
Old 12-04-2006, 01:26 AM
In Remembrance

15 yr Member
In Remembrance

15 yr Member

Hi Roz,

You are an expert detective indeed.

As a former psychiatric social worker, I am all too aware of the hazards of self-experimentation; especially when I'm planning to remain deliberately unaware of the details of the research involved (so as not to contaminate my expectations). I have decided to ask my daughter, who is about to start grad school in social work, to review the research and alert me to anything she believes I should know.

I wish I could include my neuro in my plans, but I feel he would just do the common-sense thing and tell me to stop. Why not just stop?

First, 60 minutes would not have discussed it, opening the door to such self-experimentation, if there were any known dangers. More important, I think I am clearly suffering from a PTSD that is destroying my quality of life to the point that I can't work and see suicide as the only release from the emotional pain I'm going through.

I haven't found any words to describe the Hell my life has become except to say I believe that the PTSD is already killing me; my continuing weight loss is approaching a dangerous level despite every effort to reverse or at least stop it.

I mentioned quality of life: I am bed confined; too weak to transfer without assistance or perform any of my ADLs. At some point I will reach the point where I cannot live at home, which would mean a nursing home. Many people can accept this alternative, but I am not willing to surrender my autonomy to the next CNA on shift. I manage my meds better than anyone else could, and besides, nursing home food would only aggravate my weight loss.