View Single Post
Old 02-04-2009, 06:49 PM
Elder Member

15 yr Member
Elder Member

15 yr Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Happy Feet View Post
I’m new to this journey called MS and it’s been quite a shock. We are all individuals and the way that we deal with our Multiple Sclerosis differs from person to person.

Right now I’m experiencing a sense of loss after learning of my MS diagnosis. I feel like I’m in mourning, grieving over the person I "might have been". I know this is part of the process of learning to accept my illness. I am trying to learn to live with my MS and my changing limitations every day. Each day holds a lesson in learning to accept myself.

I was focusing on the anger, the sadness, the acceptance; but what about the denial. I keep saying to myself, “Do I really have multiple sclerosis?
Char do you mind if I toss a few things out to HF, it is an issue that you will in time see and or something will happen that will take care of the denial, and from my experience and from what I have read of others the first yr or so after being dxed is the hardest, so much is hitting you anxiety confusion anger sadness and fears. slowly take it a day at a time, and yes I can say pace yourself, but am pretty sure you will find out down the road, ok now I get the pace yourself comment , a lot of it is adjustments accepting the fact of your adjustments is an issue you can fight or say bummer now it takes two days to dust the living room instead of a few hours. if you can handle little things like that, the transition will be smoother,

i can only tell you how much i wish I knew a site such as this and folks as these people, when I was Dxed, they all are so caring and its cause we all are hit differently from the MSbs and the MS meds some times the only thing we all shared with MS is the name of our illness and Confusion, and the confusion can get you bogged down at times. keep an eye on body temps fevers exertion, those tend to mess with the MSbs, as does stress.