View Single Post
Old 03-01-2009, 04:35 AM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member

Hello Dorrie:

Well, I've got to admit, I'm just starting out on this journey myself but what I do understand is that when the condition develops in childhood it definitely is a much more serious condition than the form that initiates in adulthood. Originally, when I was first being diagnosed they thought I had Myasthenia Gravis, as the symptoms I was presenting with were very similar to MG. I was sent to the Neurolmuscular Clinic in London, Ontario ( Canada) to see a Dr. Nicole who is apparently one of or "the" authority on MG in N.A. ... his diagnosis was that I did not have MG but through further genetic testing, came to the conclusion that it was Myatonic Dystrophy Type I ( there are 2 types but I'm not entirely certain what the exact difference is between the 2 types ): Adult Onset. At the time I was presenting with very serious symptoms but we didn't realize that my potassium levels and the electrolytes in general were also way out of balance and once we got the potassium levels back up to normal range the severity of my symptoms did abate.