View Single Post
Old 04-04-2009, 06:03 AM
Magnate

15 yr Member
Magnate

15 yr Member
Default The EMG may reveal more damage--

--or it may not; not only are EMG/NCV tests not always a reliable indication of the extent of nerve damage (one can have annoying and considerable symptoms of compression, especially sensory, and not show much in the way of deficit), but if the smaller, unmyelinated fibers are involved, those tests, which can only measure larger, myelinated fibers, may not show anything.

Compression of nerve at the knee head, by the way, is actually very common--I have a degree of it in my right leg that extends down the front of my right calf (it's a slight numbness, not what you're feeling, but I empathize). This is often found in people with imparied glucose tolerance, but also often in athletes (compartment syndrome, in which bulging muscle actually presses on and displaces nerve), and, of course, in people who assume squatting and bending positions ("strawberry pickers' palsy"), or sit cross legged often (I'm certainly guilty of the latter). The knee is also a place, like the spine, at which osteophytic spurs can grow as we get older, and these can compress nerve.