View Single Post
Old 05-13-2009, 08:45 PM
In Remembrance

15 yr Member
In Remembrance

15 yr Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jennelle View Post
Please be careful with the use of diuretics...you gave a great run down of warnings but also be aware that it if you have heart conditions it can cause serious problems. Also note that our swelling is not linked to the amount of fluid in our bodies but is from the rsd....the "edema" is not the same as it is for those who have other conditions that cause swelling. It may work for some though but I would caution using them on a as needed basis...due to the need of close monitoring that mike mentioned .
If your wife finds that her swelling occurs during certain activities (like gardening) have her get up and move around every few minutes to keep the blood moving...this may help. I am new to the leg rsd...I just found out about my spread not too long ago so I want to thank you all for these responses because I will use some of the advice too.

Jennelle
`````````````````\/~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hello Jennelle,

I agree with you about the use of meds for the swelling. Kind of like NSAIDS, did everyone see this past week where the gov't warned all seniors about using those?
Oh boy, now simple aspirin isn't "all that safe".

Now, this is gonna sound like a real P.I.A. (and it is) but, once you get set up right, it's great.