View Single Post
Old 05-17-2009, 07:08 AM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member
Heart I've got it too!

I just recently was diagnosed with chiari one as well, but I've had migraines all my life. I've started having other symptoms now, as well. It sounds like yours are more severe, but from what I've learned about the decompression surgery, it sounds like a pretty good option. I talked to a neurophysiologist locally and he said as least technically it's not super intricate--of course, you want the best possible surgeon you can get, and it is serious. There are a couple (that I know of ) of Chiari Institutes, one in Great Neck New York (Long Island) and one in Milwaukee, WI. I Know the New York Institute takes a few months to get in, but I'm sure either place would be great.

I have three boys. I'm single, too! (newly) You're not alone! I'm new to this, too. New to Chiari and new to writing on a site like this. I'd be really interested in hearing how you're doing. I'm not sure what I'm going to do, either. I get mixed messages from people. The neurosurgeon said I was a good candidate for the surgery, then my neurologist said I should get a second opinion! what I want to know is, if I've had headaches all my life, and I'm starting to show other symptoms as well, and likely they'll get worse, what would the benefit be of waiting for surgery? Any thoughts? The idea of getting rid of my headaches sounds blissful.
good luck.

Quote:
Originally Posted by reeseszverra View Post