View Single Post
Old 07-01-2009, 09:51 PM
In Remembrance

15 yr Member
In Remembrance

15 yr Member
Default Sudden Progression

I am intentionally separating this from the thread of a similar title below so that it will stand out. If you should encounter an unexpected symptom flareup or worsening, give some serious thought to the possibility that you have developed a sensitivity to wheat gluten.

I know that this has been touched on before, but I have some firsthand experience now. If it should happen to you, knowing what to look for might keep you out of a nursing home.

As noted earlier, hypersensitivity is totally different than allergy. Allergy is primarily a product of the immune system. Hypersensitivity, on the other hand, is neurological. Those are, admittedly, broad statements, but the reaction that I am talking about produces a neurological response that amplifies PD symptoms as well as adds a few of its own.

Two days ago, I had lunch at a Japanese place that makes a point of not using MSG at all. I had fried rice, thinking that I would avoid gluten. Unfortunately, as I have since learned, restaurants often depend on "flavor packets" for fried rice which includes wheat starch.

I enjoyed lunch and took a sizeable portion home. About an hour and a half later, I went unexpectedly "off" and desite shoveling Sinemet and Requip at it, stayed that way.

I first started pondering when I noticed that while I was "off", I wasn't stiff. But I couldn't move, either. For about 30 minutes I experienced what I imagine curare (of poison arrow fame) must feel like. Total lack of control over the voluntary muscles.

Luckily, that lessened but I still had problems. Couldn't walk at all. Couldn't lift my arms to type. That was new. And still not rigid.