Thread: neurofeedback
View Single Post
Old 08-11-2009, 11:52 PM
Legendary

15 yr Member
Legendary

15 yr Member

Hockey,

I have been dealing with my life changing injury since 1965. Since 2001, I can no longer drive, nor work gainfully, so I have a lot of time to spend sitting at the computer. Early on, I was slowly putting together a Workers' Comp claim and later a SSDI application. It took three years to get SSDI and I never did get anything out of Work Comp because I was unable to find an attorney to take an MTBI case on a contingency fee.

In 2001, there was very little good information on-line. so I spent a small fortune on books.

I graduated from high school with honors and intended to go on to dental school to become an orthodontist. I quickly learned that my brain injured mind would not be able to compete successfully to a spot in dental school.

I kept having decompensations (relapses) that severely affected my ability to memorize school work and focus during the stress of tests. I had a similar experience in 10th grade when I had a bad decompensation. It took 18 months to recover from the effects of heading the ball at soccer practice.

Since then, I have learned how to pace myself and research without overloading my brain. I spent my life saving seeking a proper diagnosis and possible treatment.

I have learned that contrary to what the neurologists say, very few PCS/MTBI sufferers ever recover fully, less than 10%. Even they will have small deficits under stressful circumstances. Those who do best after PCS/MTBI do so because they have accepted their injuries and learned how to work around their limitations, work with their limitations, and basically adapt their lives to their present condition.

I have also learned that very few physicians have a true understanding of the long term prognosis from PCS/MTBI. Just because the patient does not show up in their office after a few weeks or months does not mean they recovered fully.