View Single Post
Old 01-05-2007, 08:14 AM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member
Attention

Quote:
Originally Posted by MelodyL View Post
...my Alan...when he comes home from the gym, he has more black and blues on his body than I have ever seen in my whole life.

He has one on his knee that is a deep purple. I know this is bruising and it does eventually go away, right??

But honestly, I'm extremely confused about the neuropathy....
Melody, I happened upon your post while searching the Internet. I'm not a doctor, but it's plain to see that your husband Alan has multiple symptoms of the chronic disorders sometimes called the "diseases of civilization":

-idiopathic peripheral neuropathy
-easy bruising: "more black and blues on his body than I have ever seen in my whole life"
-foot ulcers that take a long time to heal
-psoriatic arthritis in the toes
-Taylor's bunions
-coronary heart disease

Your own diabetic neuropathy is also a disease of civilization.

Quote:
I have no idea if tailor bunions can grow back
They can--some experts say that a bunion can only come back if the surgery was done improperly or footwear is worn that is too tight or causes overpronation; others say there is no guarantee that bunions won't come back some years later even if the surgery is performed correctly and the person wears appropriate footwear.

The following of your husband's symptoms are associated with diabetes and pre-diabetes, so your husband should have his blood sugar checked if he hasn't already:
-idiopathic peripheral neuropathy
-easy bruising
-foot ulcers that take a long time to heal

The diseases of civilization are theoretically believed to always include the following features:

-chronic inflammation
-immune system malfunction (autoimmune disorders), though it often is not recognized as such

...and tend to include some of the following features:

-chronic pain, tingling and/or numbness
-nutritional deficiencies
-one or more of allergies, asthma, or sinus problems