View Single Post
Old 09-22-2009, 11:14 PM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Conductor71 View Post
Max,

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences with us. It is fantastic that you have reduced your meds in such a dramatic way. I am in awe that you practice Bikram yoga- I started practicing Vinyasa flow prior to my PD diagnosis and even then it kicked my butt.

I truly believe that the meds actually make us dependent in a sense; I think they intensify our symptoms as our brains and bodies frantically look for something that all of a sudden isn't there as drug wears off or is fully metabolized. I'm not sure if it's the drug itself or the fact that it peaks-crashes and has systemic effect. I truly feel worse the more I use and the longer I've used it.

I have a few questions. I am currently seeking a new neurologist and looking for someone who has a more holistic approach.

* Does your neurologist support and/or guide you in using Mucuna or any other herbal supplements?

* How long did it take you to reach your current levodopa daily therapy? Did you schedule a taper off of Sinemet over the course of many months?

* Do you practice yoga daily?

* Do you still work?

* Do you take any other supplements?

Thanks again,

Laura

Hi Laura,
I'm pretty much on my own as far as my meds/herbs goes. It has been trial and error on my part. My doctor & neurologist never heard about these herbs, so they can't prescribe or guide me. They're curious but can't really help me because mucuna is not available here in Canada. You can get it in the States, I get it directly fom India.