Thread: Remission in MG
View Single Post
Old 10-24-2009, 01:14 PM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member

Annie, this is a WONDERFUL thread. We are all so different -- in our symptoms, our abilities to tolerate treatments, and in our willingness to accept the side-effects from those treatments.

I was a teacher, too -- now on disability. I am only on Mestinon. I cannot take Prednisone due to steroid psychosis -- it makes me suicidal. I wanted a thymectomy -- my neuro tried to get me "strong" by using Plasmapheresis (I "died" -- bp dropped to 44/16) then IVIG (I developed aseptic meningitis). So, no surgery. I am allergic to almost everything -- have reactions to LOTS of meds -- antibiotics are a NIGHTMARE! Lymphoma and skin cancer run in my family, so no Cellcept. I have a double first cousin who had liver failure of unknown origin and had to have a liver transplant, so we are ALL afraid for me to try Imuran. It just goes on and on. At my last appointment, I was not so great, my neuro suggested that we just and see -- I was in total agreement. Neither of us wants to "kill" me again -- LOL!!

So far, I have managed to keep myself OUT of the hospital. I get a LOT of sleep -- drink water or weak tea CONSTANTLY -- try to remain as calm and stress-free as possible (hahahaha) -- stay AWAY from chemicals and PESTICIDES (my dogs now get garlic powder in their food instead of flea and heartworm treatments). I still go into exacerbations when I get sick OR stressed OR if I inadvertently run into a chemical or pesticide (like when the crop dusters fly over), but, otherwise, I am "ok". "Ok" means that I am NOT on a respirator, I am NOT in a wheelchair, and I am NOT in a hospital. (When I am in an exacerbation, I spend 3 months going from my bed to my recliner -- sleeping or napping most of the day.)