View Single Post
Old 11-25-2009, 08:58 PM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member

I am not a doctor, first off. But I have handled w/c claims for over 12 years, retired 8 years ago due to my own health issues.

The MRI indicates that you have what are considered pretty normal changes for your age. Osteophytes are degenerative changes in the disk, commonly called spurs. We all have degenerative changes in our spine as we age. These are not caused by injury. It appears that these were there before your injury. Stenosis is where the space your spinal cord passes through has narrowed. This is also a common degenerative finding. The MRI report does not indicate a disk herniation. Even if it did, these are not always indicative of injury.

That said, your symptoms increased or got much worse or you had new symptoms you never had before following your accident. I don't know what state you are in or whether your state differentiates between aggravation of preexisting conditions or counts them as new manifestations, but in most/many states your employer (w/c) is responsible for returning you to the condition you were in prior to your industrial accident. This can be difficult since you had arthritic changes before your injury, but you should be able to document that you did not have bladder incontinence, or the other symptoms you are experiencing.

I would begin gathering your medical records so you know what they say about what you were and were not experiencing before your injury. That way you will have them for your records, and can provide them if you seek a second opinion. I always suggest doing some of this yourself, because you never know what records your comp examiner is sending or not sending. I am afraid it is up to you, the injured worker, to watch out for your own interests here, not because your employer or the claims person is not to be trusted but because in the world of medicine we are fast learning that we must be diligent and educated about our conditions.