View Single Post
Old 12-17-2009, 09:40 PM
Legendary

15 yr Member
Legendary

15 yr Member

Sackler,

I am glad to see you have had such a good recovery. I hope you have learned to stay away from concussion risks.

Although you may feel like you have recovered 100%, studies show you have not. Your are now susceptible to another devastating concussion. I have used less technological ways to recover from concussions starting in 1971. In non-stress situations, my recover was very high. If I was under stress, my residual symptoms were noticeable. Research suggests that my experience is normal.

We did not even have calculators back then, except for $395 HP models. I did mental math to retrain my brain. These recovery techniques worked great for many years and many later minor concussions or light head bumps. I graduated high school 23rd out of 350 even after having a full year of dismal grades after a concussion.

I suffered a moderate concussion in 1996 and used Freecell and Minesweeper to exercise my brain and recover. A mild concussion in 1999 was difficult to recover from and a extremely mild concussion in 2001 was not recoverable, no matter what I did.

The studies show that the damage from a first concussion leaves your brain weak and susceptible to future lesser concussions. As a PCS subject ages, their ability to tolerate a concussion diminishes and their ability to recover diminishes, especially after 40 years old.

The important fact to learn is that first concussions at an early age are far more recoverable. They should be taken as a wake up call to avoid impacts to the head. Concussions during puberty can be more symptomatic and spontaneously recover as the brain matures out of puberty.