Thread: Muscle Spasms
View Single Post
Old 01-14-2010, 09:11 PM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Talking

Hi DejaVu -

I have complete and severe muscle cramps as well. I have described this to my neurologist and to the Genetics doctor I met; and, both say that this is not typical with PN. I have been diagnosed with Charcot Marie Tooth, Type 1A. This is a genetic type of neuropathy.

I have been complaining about severe and sudden muscles cramps for about 8 years now. I was actually diagnosed with CMT after a particularly bad bout of muscle cramps. It's what convinced my family doctor to refer me to a neurologist. We had already gone over my diet, blood oxygenation and blood work repeatedly; and all seemed normal.

I don't know if these cramps are due to the neuropathy, or if it just so happens to be something else and we just happened to find the neuropathy first. I must admit that I have far more difficutly dealing with the cramps than the CMT symptoms. I dread them. I scare my family when I get them.

I get terribly nauseous, my body gets a huge shot of adrenaline, I get extremely hot, I shake (as if in shock) and have to apply excessive pressure to the cramp site. Sometimes my husband has to help me squeeze to help get rid of the cramp; and, that doesn't help right away. I actually sometimes walk around with a house coat belt in my pocket to use as a tourniquette when I'm feeling "crampy". I'm feeling sick now just thinking about it!!!!!

Anyway, EAT A PROPER DIET! Make sure you drink 4 - 6 glasses of fluid every day! Tonic water can be part of your fluids as the quinnine does help with cramps; but don't do that every day. Quinnine can be bad for you over a long period of time.