View Single Post
Old 01-29-2010, 01:02 PM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Default Humiliated, Not Validated

Hello,
This post is about diagnosis hell.

I could write a book, instead I shall be brief- ish. I am a 44 year old black female, although people often mistake me for someone in their twenties. I used to think I was a late developer, but now I have to conclude I am very young inside and out — I feel for example I find myself when very exited, waving my arms. I can never stand still at the bus stop, always moving, sometimes pacing. At school I find myself easily distracted by sounds, sometimes blurting things out. Just yesterday I caught myself pointing and sniggering at a young girl who had chosen to wear very high heels and a tiny skirt. These behaviours are not normal. And I see that I remain as I was 25 years ago. It was then, my sister recalls, that I laughed at her when she came home from college wearing makeup. I just don't get certain behaviours and they strike me as funny and fake...

This brings me to why I have joined Neuro Talk. All my life I have had issues which I could not explain. The most embarassing involve odd childhood behaviours like hiding bowel movements around the house insetad of using the bathroom, being reprimand at school when about 11 for writing a very gory short story involving a fetus, wetting the bed until I was around age 10, having strange dreams every night where I would hear a violin playing and was terrified, being diagnosed, I think, with epilepsy. I used to take things like tegretol.

I grew up in a town in England where the dialect is very strong. Yet I hardly sound like everyone else. I listen to the way my siblings speak, at first I thought they were faking it, but now I know that my innability to pick up my native dialect is a part of a bigger problem.