Old 02-02-2010, 05:41 PM
In Remembrance

15 yr Member
In Remembrance

15 yr Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Momlovetobake View Post
Hello everyone!!

I am 33 years old and been battling with rsd for almost a year now. I develped this from a carpel tunnel surgery. I have Rsd in both of my arms starting from my fingers all the up to about my shoulders. During the day i have pains nonstop in both my upper thighs but goes away then comes back sometimes at night. My upper extremities are always a constant 10 or above. I got myfirst nerve block last month and did not work at all. I am scheduled for the other side this Thurs. Could someone explain to me how does this work or if this has helped anyone? I been trying my hardest to keep a positive attitude but it does not help when im in constant pain no matter what. I am still new to this and anything anyone can share please let me know..Thanks
Hello, and welcome, Moml2bake..
I've had rsd, and other injuries since 83.
It is a bear to deal with, I must say, as I'm getting older now, (53),So I know that when it's called a "Use it or Lose it" kind of disease, that's a FACT!
You've got to keep moving. Or, the your muscles will atrophy, and be gone. Gotto move through the pain. Not 'strengthening' exercise, but keep moving.

Do you have a good DR, who really knows RSD? Do you feel confident with your doctor?

I've had blocks, ordered by Dr S (Schwartzman), and they were only for diagnostic use.
If it doesn't work for you, then you probably need to move on to something else.

I take methadone, cymbalta, diazepam, migraine meds, and zanaflex.
I also use lidocaine patches.

There is a world of "remedies" that will help you deal with the pain, but remember, nobody can make it "go away" 100%, and that should not be your goal. Make life tolerable, so you can live it, and you'll do well.
I've heard many people say they're FAR more satisfied with a pump than the SCS. You should discuss that with your doctor...