View Single Post
Old 02-05-2010, 07:40 AM

15 yr Member

15 yr Member
Default I also went back...

Good luck with your return to work. I did not go back full time I work part time my husband works so we just have had to cut back. But going back just knowing I have to get up and get dressed and see people who are also my friends has been the best theraphy(spelling) I could ask for and honestly it distracts me from the pain. Some days are hard but once I get there and start working, I am an accountant so it's not a job where I have to be on my feet but it can be very stressful especially at this time of the year.

Good luck anyway and keep positive I was scared also.

gabbycakes

Quote:
Originally Posted by catra121 View Post
So tomorrow I am going back to work. I am an Assistant Store Manager at a big box retailer. I have a lot of restrictions about what I cannot do...but I am going back. I am excited and scared.

I am excited because I really love my job and I have missed it, along with the people there. It is terrible being home alone with little to no contact with other people. I want to feel like I have a purpose and that I am contributing something. I am just not the sort of person who could sit at home and not work.

I am scared because I am still in a lot of pain. I know that with RSD the pain is just something that I have to live with. But I am just scared about how much I will or will not be able to do. I know I can't do my full job, being on my feet 9+ hours a day, doing a lot of physical things like lifting and pushing, going up and down ladders, etc. I just am not physically able to do all those things with the pain, and I am scared that it just won't be good enough.

But I am totally committed to trying, I'm just not sure how it will work and I am scared. I know it's sort of silly to be scared, but I just can't shake it. I really hope that I can work something out where I can do all the work that I used to.