View Single Post
Old 02-24-2010, 01:52 PM

10 yr Member

10 yr Member
Default Question about work and reasonable accommodations

I have continued to work full time, luckily up until now my company has been very good about letting me come in on saturdays and stuff to make up time missed from not being physically able to be at work or being gone for doctor appointments and stuff. I'm an accountant, more specifically I audit financial statements for companies, so it's a desk job with very little to no interaction with the public. I've been trying lots of different things to help me make it through the day, since drugging myself isn't an option and most of the medications I have I can't take during the day.

Some of the things I have done to help minimize the pain so I can work a whole day are:

Take frequent breaks, going outside for about 2 or 3 minutes every hour or so to stretch my legs and do some breathing excercises to help relax.

Not sit at crowded tables for meetings, all too often I will get kicked accidently by someone shifting their feet, and it's my foot and ankle that are affected with rsd/crps, so it's not at all fun to have it kicked. I'll usually sit right behind everyone with my foot up on another chair, maybe 2 or 3 feet behind the table. Also, when the meetings are very long, I will get up every 45 minutes or so and leave for a minute to stretch my legs and relax.

I've also found that on days where I'm especially sensitive and am doing something (like physical therapy) or putting certain creams on my legs, it's better to wear certain pants, which aren't exactly business wear. Since I'm sitting at a desk and not dealing with any customers or anything it hasn't caused a problem.

I've also asked for help a few times with things that require me to stand for long periods of time.