View Single Post
Old 01-27-2007, 08:07 PM
Legendary

15 yr Member
Legendary

15 yr Member

Hi marge,
Just wanted to say "Welcome". I'm sorry to read that your son is having such a difficult time right now.

I've no personal experience at all with Abilify so can't really help too much. I have read a few reports from people saying it helped them. One friend though had increase in their OCD while taking it, but it helped her tics. 15mg seems high, but I'm no expert. I was just looking for dose info. and found TSA-USA newsletter where they mention doses of 5mg to 10mg. I'll go check on doses and post back if I find something important.

[A lot of the info. about Abilify gives doses for other conditions like Bipolar or Schizophrenia. The doses used for tics is usually much lower.]

I checked in PubMed in a couple of articles there and also on the TSA-USA site, but couldn't find anything too specific.

The doses used in one study were from 10mg to 20mg but the 11 patients varied in age from 7 to 50 years of age, so that's pretty large difference in size and weight. My son was pretty heavy while on the Risperdal so I guess if he'd gone onto Abilify he would have needed probably larger dose than some children his same age.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/q...=pubmed_docsum

A case series of patients with Tourette's syndrome in the United Kingdom treated with aripiprazole.
Davies L, Stern JS, Agrawal N, Robertson MM.

"A case series of 11 consecutive patients with TS (age range 7-50 years; M = 7)

"The successful aripiprazole doses were between 10-20 mg daily."

Just wondering if the Risperdal was tapered off or if the Abilify was added and the Risperdal ceased at the same time. What dose Risperdal was your son on when it was ceased?